How to Cancel, Delete or Terminate a Contract

Occasionally, you may encounter the following case - you have created a contract for a member and you make a mistake of any matter. This article is covering the process of dealing with such an incorrect or not needed contract in OfficeRnD.

What You'll Need to Learn more about first:

Table of Contents

How to Cancel a Contract

The contract is Out For Signature and it is not yet Signed, but there is a reason for which you desire to cancel it. The correct approach would be to navigate to the contract that you would like to cancel, click on the "Cancel" button and then "Confirm". This will lead to the contract changing its status to "Canceled".

mceclip0.png

How to Terminate a Contract

The contract is already signed and for a specific reason, it has to be terminated. You can simply navigate to the contract and click on the Terminate button. You will need to specify a Termination Date, as it is a required field, select a Reason for the termination, add Comments (optional) and click on the "Terminate" button shown in the dialogue box.

mceclip1.png

How to Delete a Contract

In general, you can simply delete a contract if you open it and click on the red Delete button on the top right corner of the page. There is another use-case that may occur when a client changes their mind and does not want this contract anymore, but it has been invoiced. You can delete contracts, but if only if the memberships associated with this contract have not been invoiced yet. Otherwise, you will receive the following error message:

mceclip2.png

This specific issue can only be fixed if the membership line items from the invoices are detached. You can find more info on detaching here & here. Once this has been done you should be able to delete the specific contract. Note that we do not recommend the deletion of legally binding documents. 

 

Additional Notes

Currently, you can only send a contract with eSign once. If you Edit the contract at a later stage, it cannot be resent afterward. We have identified the need for such a feature and we will be working on adding this as an option.

Please bear this in mind when creating a contract and only send it to your clients when all the details have been adjusted and finalized. Otherwise, you'd need to cancel it and create an entirely new one. You can generate PDF documents after any edit you make and send those to your client for review. Once all the details have been settled, you can send the contract via eSign.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.