Google Calendar

The following steps will help you set up and configure an integration between OfficeRnD and Google Calendar.

Note: The Google Calendar integration supports only meeting rooms currently.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to the ‘Settings’ tab, click on ‘Integrations’ and look for Google Calendar in the Other integrations section. Click 'Activate' to enable the integration.
    GC_Activate.png
  2. Once the integration is active it will appear in the list of active integrations on the top of the page. The integration needs to be connected to Google. Click 'Connect' to do so:
    GC_Configure.png
  3. Sign in with your Google account. 
  4. Back in 'Integrations', click 'Configure'.GC_Configure_2.png
  5. Using the drop-down menus, select a Google Calendar account to sync with for each meeting room. This will allow you to synchronize bookings created in Google Calendar with your meeting rooms. Bookings can be synced automatically by checking 'Enable Auto Sync', or manually from 'Integrations'.
  6. Click 'Done'.

Configure_GC.png

Important information

  • Each OfficeRnD resource should be mapped to its own calendar in Google. Otherwise, bookings made in the same calendar may overlap. For example, if two meeting rooms are mapped to the same calendar and are booked at the same time, the two bookings will appear under the same calendar in OfficeRnD, which could cause confusion.
  • Google Calendar doesn't validate overlapping bookings like the system does when booking via the OfficeRnD calendars. This is why if there are multiple bookings for the same slot in the Google Calendar, they will all be synced to the OfficeRnD calendars.
  • Bookings created in Google Calendar cannot be accounted for on the OfficeRnD side and they are shown in a read-only state. These bookings cannot be charged through OfficeRnD. The same applies to bookings created in Google Calendar which you want to delete. This option will be available only in the Google Calendar where the booking was made.
  • If the mapping is not directly to the account's Google calendars, but rather to a shared calendar, and the access is revoked or the shared calendar is deleted, then the calendars will be removed when the integration is synced.
  • If the integration is disconnected, the already synced bookings remain and must be manually deleted. They can only be deleted from the support side.
  • If the mapping/calendar for a resource is changed, already synced bookings remain from the old calendar (they can only be deleted from the support side) and new bookings from the calendar that is currently mapped are synced separately.
Was this article helpful?
7 out of 8 found this helpful
Was this article helpful?

Comments

2 comments
  • Would be cool if this integration worked with Google Calendar 'Rooms,' but I understand there are other things to work on that are much more important!  :)

    3
  • Agree and "Resources" aka rooms is really something that makes the most sense as when we book meetings in Gcal they are set according to that and not to the unique meeting room calendar

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.