Sometimes it's possible to create two separate resources (i.e. an accidental duplicate of another) and then make an assignment for them with the same membership. In this article, we'll explore how this can be rectified by merging History records.
How to merge History records
Let's say that you've ended up with two resources. One is a duplicate of the other and both have the same name. However, they may have different assignments.
For example, the first assignment can be from January 1 to 31 for the first resource, and the second assignment can start from February 1 for the duplicate resource. Understandably, this is redundant and may also compromise your statistics.
The problem can be solved by merging the histories of the two resources and removing the duplicate resource. Here's how to do that:
1. Navigate to Space/Resource type in question (e.g Private Office).
2. Find the duplicate resources.
3. Click the cogwheel icon next to each one and select History.
Each assignment will have a start (move in) and end (move out) date.
4. You can delete all history records from the duplicate resource by clicking the recycle bin icon to the right of each record.
5. Subsequently, you can delete the duplicate resource itself by closing the History window, clicking the cogwheel icon, and choosing Delete.
Note: It's best to remove the resource that's currently assigned to the company, i.e the one with the most recent assignment. That way, you'll be able to record the correct assignment from the company profile more easily. Otherwise, you'll have to record an assignment in the past.
6. Go back to the profile of the company to which the resource was assigned. There should be a button named "Assign" under the Membership section. It will allow you to record a new assignment for the correct resource without the confusion of a duplicate.